MENU Office of International Services

OIS NEWS - 6/18/2020

2020 Laurette Kirstein Scholarship Winners

The Office of International Services is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 Laurette Kirstein Scholarship for UIC International Students. Each of the six winners was chosen by a panel of judges from an extremely competitive applicant pool to receive a $5,000 (pre-tax) award in the form of a student account credit for tuition, books, and living expenses. The group represents six different countries and academic disciplines from across the University. While diverse in background, each winner has demonstrated a commitment to academic excellence and a desire to use their education for positive social change. Please join us in congratulating the winners!


Teuta Peja – Criminology, Law and Justice

Anuradha Sharma – Science Education

Hyungkyung Kim – Nursing Science

Daniela Guerrero Rodriguez – Political Science and Public Policy

Taraneh Farhatnezhad – Pharmacy

Gabrielle Buntoro – Bioengineering


Questions? Feel free to contact the Office of International Services.