MENU Office of International Services

OIS NEWS - 03/31/2017

2017 Laurette Kirstein Scholarship Winners

The Office of International Services is pleased to announce this year’s winners of the Laurette Kirstein Scholarship. Each of the six winners was chosen by a panel of judges from an extremely competitive applicant pool to receive a $5,000 (pre-tax) award in the form of a student account credit for tuition, books and living expenses. The group represents five different countries and academic disciplines from across the University. While diverse in background, each winner has demonstrated a commitment to academic excellence and a desire to use their education for positive social change. Please join us in congratulating the winners!

Praneet Kaur Bhatia – Electrical & Computer Engineering

Kanako Ishida - Nursing Practice: Family Nurse Practitioner

Oluwadara Mamora – Public Administration

Matteo Vanella – Urban Planning and Policy

Yukako Kitamura – Economics

Shengping Zhang – Business Administration in Healthcare Management